Google Translate Limitations Disclaimer

The electronic translation service on the Rainbow District School Board website is provided by Google Translate, a free third-party service.

Rainbow District School Board does not guarantee the accuracy, reliability, correctness or completeness of any translated information.

Translations are generated electronically and are not verified by qualified translators in the language of choice.

The translations are intended to capture the overall intent of the original material presented in English.

Before you act on translated information, please confirm any facts that are important to you or may affect any decisions you make.

Our goal in providing this tool is to make information more accessible to families whose first language is not English.

Thank you.

School Council

School Council

School Council

The Central Manitoulin Public School Council shall endeavor to provide a forum for communication and cooperation among parents, principal, non-teaching and teaching staff, and the Board. It is the goal of the Council to promote a positive, cooperative approach in addressing mutual concerns.

Who Can Be a Member of a School Council?

The School Council should reflect the diversity of the school communities, and their different histories, traditions, and heritages. Parents and guardians will form a majority of the council, except in adult day schools, where “parent” positions will be held by students. Trustees and teachers may be elected as parent members of a council of the school their child attends.

Membership shall include but not be limited to:

  • parents and guardians of students enrolled in the school
  • community representatives
  • a student (this is mandatory in secondary schools: in elementary schools it is at the discretion of the principal)
  • the school principal
  • a teacher
  • a non-teaching staff member

Individual schools may exceed these requirements, but parents/guardians must form the majority of the School Council. It is recommended that the School Council membership not exceed 21. Community members are appointed by the Council.